Mayor and Town Council

Troutman is governed by a Mayor and a five-member Town Council. A non-partisan election for Mayor is held every four years. Council elections are also non-partisan and all seats are at large. Council members are elected for four-year staggered terms.


The Mayor is the presiding officer of the governing board; a mayor pro tempore is elected by and from members of the Town Council to preside in the absence of the Mayor. 


Regular Town Council Meetings

Town Council meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm. The public has an opportunity to address the council at these regular meetings. Citizens may speak for three minutes on any topic. A sign-up sheet is available at the lectern before the meeting.


Agenda Briefing Meetings

Informal agenda briefings are held at 4:00 pm on the Monday before regular Thursday Council meetings. The purpose of Agenda Briefings is to review upcoming agenda items. The Council may transact business at these meetings as necessary or expedient.


Council meetings are held at Troutman Town Hall, 400 North Eastway Drive.  Both sessions are open to the public 


Paul Henkel


Council Member


Town Council